Old medal, from IRAN?? - Please help

16 posts

» Quick access to the last post

Hello,

who can help me with this coin? Bought in Indonesia. Value?!

Front: Cow or bull with 7 stars & moon, unknown sign
Back: old man working on the sea or near mountains, unknown sign

around 4,5 cm ; 42 gramms, brown material

Thanks!

It seems to be a medal rather than a coin.
₱o$₮ag€ $₮am₱$ a₹€ mo₹€ £€₲i₮ima₮€ a$ a ƒo₹m oƒ ¢u₹₹€nc¥ ₮ha₦ ₮h€ €₦₮i₹€ "¢oi₦" ₱₹odu¢₮io₦ oƒ ₦au₹u o₹ ₦iu€. ••• £€$ ₮im฿₹€$-₱o$₮€ $o₦₮ ₱£u$ £é₲i₮im€$ €₦ ₮a₦t qu'o฿j€₮$ mo₦é₮ai₹€$ qu€ £a ₱₹odu¢₮io₦ €₦₮iè₹€ d€ «mo₦₦ai€$» d€ ₦au₹u ou d€ ₦iu€.
With the shape of the moon (U shaped), it puts the coin somewhere near the equator.
But with the star above the moon, maybe Mauritania, considering that's their flag?
(Or am I reading too much into it?)
http://www.facebook.com/NumismaticsUK
I'm not an expert in any kind of coins, but I reckon I'm good at research and will do my best to help. Feel free to tell me my identifications/valuations/gradings are wrong. It's the only way I'll learn.
Possibly it´s a medal. What sign is it? What does the signs mean?
It has been bought about 10 years ago in Banda Aceh, from a local person during Tsnunami help project.
It looks very old.
It's not from Indonesia. I can't understand the inscription but it is definitely Persian/Urdu, something like that, so it should be a medal from Iran/Pakistan/NW India area, I guess it is Iran.
I'm not orange and also in other things I'm not a Donald at all. DonChori like Don Felipe or Doña María, por favor.
Exactly the problem I encountered, but looking at it again with fresh eyes, I read the name اسماعل (Ismael) on the last line in front of the old man. And just above, we probably have some name followed by بن (bin) = son (of). Therefore: "So-and-so, son of Ismael".

Also, ابر (if my reading is OK on the first line) means "cloud" in Persian. But representing a human on an older medal or coins seems unexpected if this is Islamic.