Is eBay trustworthy?

18 posts

» Quick access to the last post

Hi guys!
I'm new to coin collecting both as a hobby (started about a year ago) and as a member of this community (joined yesterday). As a newbie, since day one, I had this question: Are sites like eBay trustworthy to buy coins from? Or do people prefer to swap coins online in terms of safety?
Thank you!
[Ancient] coins are a practical approach to History. Owning and holding something that was used by others hundreds or thousands of years ago, has a sense of connection through time and space.
Welcome Nijadeen,

it's years ago I used EBay, but swapping is for me a more or less weekly thing.

I only swap with partners of a good rating, in and outside the numista world.

I don't give any opinions to you. In the end it's always your own decision and risk!

Ole
Globetrotter
Coin varieties in French:
https://monnaiesetvarietes.numista.com
I buy and sell stuff on Ebay all the time. have done for decades.
Even quite expensive (relatively, for me) pieces.
If a seller has a substantial presence and history there, they are in it for the long run, and implicitly trustworthy.

There are plenty of fakes and scams on ebay too. they are everywhere else as well, even here! It's part of the business world.
The old wisdom" If its too good to be true, it probobly is" always obtains.
Jamais l'or n'a perdu la plus petite occasion de se montrer stupide. -Balzac
Welcome to Numista!

Ebay's trustworthiness, in general is like more or less real life marketplaces; there are good apples and there are rotten ones, and it's more important to know your stuff than to know the dealers. Probably some people prefer swapping, others buying; but this is personal and has no bearing in the grand scheme of things.