Shipping Coins from USA, Help Needed

3 posts • viewed 73 times
Hello everyone!

I am new to Numista and was wondering if someone can give me some guidance on how to ship coins from the USA to other countries. I searched the forum, but all the information is a bit dated.

From what I realized you can ship the coins via USPS in these ways and I have several questions about them:

1. Regular envelope. The price starts at $1.20. Up to 3 oz. No tracking number.

Do you need to fill out Customs form if you send them like that? Can you add a tracking number and how much will it cost?

2. Large flat envelope. The price starts at $1.20. Up to 15 oz. No tracking number.

Do you need to fill out Customs form if you send them like that? Can you add a tracking number and how much will it cost?

3. International Firs-class package. It is more expensive, and they give you a tracking number if I am not mistaken. And needs a custom form.

When you fill out the custom, what do you put?

I understand that you cannot legally ship coins, but people label them as "hobby supplies, etc."

Please advise. I would appreciate any helpful feedback. I want the coins to reach addressee, with the cheapest cost, and with no headache for them (paying custom fees).
A lot will depend on how many coins you send and where you are sending them to. Many countries have less than reliable mail service, unfortunately; but all packages run the risk of being stolen, damaged or confiscated. Check with your swap partner on their wants, some won't swap without certified mail.
If the coins have a high value, certified or registered mail with a customs form is best, even with the higher cost. That is your best bet to be compensated if the coins are lost or stolen.
When filling out a customers form, hobby supplies usually works, or you can flat out lie.